introduction - new rider and new klr 650 owner in northern colorado

DSN_KLR650
neguypdx@hotmail.com

new rider

Post by neguypdx@hotmail.com » Fri Oct 20, 2000 9:42 am

Hi members, I am a relative motorcycle newbie and am looking at purchasing my first bike. I have shopped around a bit, done some web searching, and am wondering what people think of the KLR 650 as a first bike? Of course, there are no used ones around so I would probably be purchasing new. I am also 5-10 and when I sat on the bike at a dealer found myself on my toes. Comfort-wise I would want the bike lowered by getting lowering links. If this isn't the best option for a first bike, I would take any suggestion. This bike seems like a great all 'round bike, though. Thanks! Joe Price Portland, Oregon

Dennis Eastman

new rider

Post by Dennis Eastman » Fri Oct 20, 2000 3:24 pm

I just bought my KLR650 about 2 weeks and 800 miles ago. This is my first bike so I have nothing to compare it to but I am having a blast with it. I am 5' 6" and I had them lowwer the back end as low as they dared and I am able to reach the ground with the balls of my feet. I have been told that a custom Corbin seat would lower me another inch and a half which would be better but still wouldn't be flat footed. If there is lowering kit that I can put on this bike I would appreciate any information on where to get it. I was told that in it's current configuration it would not be a good off-road ride. For now I am taking there word for it until I learn how to handle it on the pavement. I live near Charlotte, NC and there isn't an abundance of places that I can take it off road but I am looking. Thanks, Dennis R. Eastman deast@... 2001 KLR650