please forgive me! oily mess -nklrish

DSN_KLR650
eddiebmauri

chain lube - squeak question

Post by eddiebmauri » Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:58 pm

Friends, please bear with me, I am no mechanic and I am still learning about my KLR's in's-and-out's; here is my question. Yesterday, I went on an 8 hr. ride, and put some 400 miles on my bike. Prior to leaving I put some lube on my chain. I used a liberal amount of Castrol Hypoy-C Gear Oil - SAE 80W-90. I use that oil prior to most rides, and at every refueling. Except for yesterday that is. Yesterday, I filled up twice. When I got on my bike today, I heard a squeak. Sort of like the squeak that a tank's tracks make, or like the brake pads were worn. Yesterday, I did not ride in any rain or water, no sand, mud, etc. All tarmac on yesterday's ride, highway speeds. So my questions is, is that squeak about normal? Am I going to have to carry some lube with me on long trips and lube the chain every fill-up. I have had my KLR for 3 years and have never had that (chain squeak) happen? Also, I am a student of the "clean the chain with WD-40, wipe clean, and use SAE 80W-90 to lube - school of thought" when it comes to chain maintenance. I guess that I am confused as to why all of a sudden I got a squeak. Eddie (03' KLR650 - "la poderosa")

David Bell

Post by David Bell » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:07 pm