warped 3 is on.... cautionary tale

DSN_KLR650
Jim Hudson

fairing removal

Post by Jim Hudson » Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:07 am

I'm thinking about starting some projects that require removal of the fairing, which I've never done before. I looked at the factory manuals and the procedure outlined is to simply remove the screws that attach the fairing to its mount. Seems like there has to be more to it than that. I recently purchased a Clymer manual (thanks to recommendations here) and it calls for unplugging the wiring, then unbolting the fairng frame and removing the fairing & frame as a unit. This makes more sense to me than the factory instructions, unless I misunderstood what I read. What sayest those of you who have done this - remove just the fairing or the fairing/frame assembly? Jim [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Jeff Saline

fairing removal

Post by Jeff Saline » Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:59 am

On Tue, 13 Feb 2007 16:02:53 -0000 "Jim Hudson" writes:
> > I'm thinking about starting some projects that require removal of > the > fairing, which I've never done before.
SNIP
> I recently purchased a Clymer manual (thanks to recommendations > here) > and it calls for unplugging the wiring, then unbolting the fairng > frame > and removing the fairing & frame as a unit. This makes more sense to > me > than the factory instructions, unless I misunderstood what I read. > What > sayest those of you who have done this - remove just the fairing or > the > fairing/frame assembly? > > Jim