carbon on piston

DSN_KLR650
aboyandhisdawg

nklr: msf requirements?

Post by aboyandhisdawg » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:17 pm

a friend of mine is scheduled to take the MSF course (long waiting list here in Vegas) the course requirements say "goggles or face shield, required, no glasses" or words to that effect. so, my question is, are Z87.1 rated saftey glasses considered appropriate for the class, or do they need to be "goggles". sure looks like apropriate saftey glasses would offer more protection than typical MX goggles, which AFAIK do not meet the Z87.1 spec. there is no contact info provided for the instructors... so no way to ask ahead of time. fixer KLR A1 Lost Wages, NV

PauL M. Bober

Post by PauL M. Bober » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:30 pm

Uhm ... I am an MSF Instructor in AZ. We prefer that you use face shields, goggles, or motorcycle riding glasses. If the safety glasses meet your instructors option of protecting your eyes from wind born frontal debris, shatter resistance and lateral wind .. i.e. blow by that makes your eyes water .. you should be OK. Just in case .. ya got a couple of days till the class ... avoid a big hassle .. go shopping for motorcycle gear. PauL M. Bober -----Original Message----- From: aboyandhisdawg [mailto:a_boy_and_his_dog@...] Sent: Tuesday, June 01, 2004 5:18 PM To: DSN_klr650@yahoogroups.com Subject: [DSN_klr650] NKLR: MSF requirements? a friend of mine is scheduled to take the MSF course (long waiting list here in Vegas) the course requirements say "goggles or face shield, required, no glasses" or words to that effect. so, my question is, are Z87.1 rated saftey glasses considered appropriate for the class, or do they need to be "goggles". sure looks like apropriate saftey glasses would offer more protection than typical MX goggles, which AFAIK do not meet the Z87.1 spec. there is no contact info provided for the instructors... so no way to ask ahead of time. fixer KLR A1 Lost Wages, NV List sponsored by Dual Sport News at www.dualsport