ordered my "modified" corbin

DSN_KLR650
warrenb

portland oregon dealer

Post by warrenb » Wed Jan 09, 2002 5:23 pm

Glad I found this group! I'm looking to purchase my first motorcycle (either a KLR 250 or KLR 650) soon. I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for Kawasaki dealers in the greater Portland area. Up to 75 miles or so away wouldn't be any trouble. Thanks! -WarrenB

dooden

portland oregon dealer

Post by dooden » Wed Jan 09, 2002 8:42 pm

Hey Warren, Glad you found the group, please excuse whenever people go on and on about nothing, but winter months tend to give cabin fever to the ice/snow bound folks. ;-) First bike ? Not that I am a expert, but my first bike was a 80cc trail bike when I was like 6 yrs old many moons ago, have rode 80cc,90cc,125cc's all of which were trail bikes some street legal, then moved to a 400cc street bike, bit different to ride of course, now later on in life I got me a KLR-650 and love it. I have a couple nicknames for it "The beast" and "Monster", it is a big bike about 400 pounds fueled, I am basically a newbie to the KLR at little over 500 miles on the clock, and put away for the winter now. I am fairly large guy, so the weight is ok for me, but again have yet to get this beast off the road into what I consider trails, which include heavy wooded and swampy areas, but will be glad this Thumper will run any road I want without overworking the ole piston, more to come on the off road follies come spring/summer. Not expecting alot of trouble. I did order a smaller front sprocket and a bit larger rear sprocket with mud slots grooved into it, to gear the machine down a bit. To me 1st Gear was way too high for tight trails and slow wooded rides around trees and such. Go find a dealer and sit on these bikes, the 650 again is a big bike for a new rider IMHO, the 250 would have benefits to learning the dynamics of 2 wheeled rolling assault vehicles. Attend a MSF (Motorcycle Safety Foundation) course, they teach basic sk