cabot trail dual-sport gathering

DSN_KLR650
Zappa

list newbie

Post by Zappa » Sat Jun 02, 2001 2:28 pm

Hello All, I'm new to the list and I'm new to motorcycles. I'm looking into getting my first bike and the KLR 650 seems to be a good choice. I'm looking to do mostly riding on the street, but I have a friend that has an older Honda XL250 that I want to do some trail riding with. I'm not looking to do any fancy moto jumping or to burn up the trails, I'm just looking to get off road and explore at a very slow pace. The pure dirt guys I have talked to tell me that the KLR won't cut it in the dirt, but I think they are thinking that I want to burn up the trails with my hair on fire.... I guess what I'm asking is, can the KLR get me deep into the N. GA mountains without me being a drag on my buddy with his made for dirt bike? So far everything I have read about the KLR seems to make it the bike for me. I'm 6'6" so the tall seating seems ideal, being able to ride on the street out to the trails sounds great, the large gas tank is a plus. Since I'm new to motorcycles a sportbike seems out (that and you can't take it off road), and I'm not really into cruisers. Anyway, thanks in advance for any advice. Mike Stanton Atlanta GA

Jim Jackson

list newbie

Post by Jim Jackson » Sat Jun 02, 2001 3:50 pm