[dsn_klr650] fyi klr police units

DSN_KLR650
Tumu Rock

[dsn_klr650] brandnewbie: let the good times roll! (tm)

Post by Tumu Rock » Fri Apr 21, 2000 4:17 am

On Fri, 21 Apr 2000 08:33:39 -0000, Eric A13L wrote:
> 1. Changing oil after the first 100 mi., then every 200 mi. until 1000?
(from a book in the library published in 1972, it's gotta
> be right?)
Haven't heard that one but I'm pretty new to the bike world and bought mine used.
> 2. Mineral 20W50 for break in, then semi-synth or full synth > afterwards? (manual says SE, SF, or SG class; one of which maybe IS a
synth. or a blend?) Concerns about clutch slippage? Like I said, mine was already broken in but I switched to Synthetic Mobil 1 15w50 and haven't had any clutch probs, yet. A lot of listers have done the dino til first service, some go to the first 1000 miles before switching. Then others will tell it's a waste of money. Gotta just trust your gut on that one.
> 3. Hot/cold spark plugs seasonally?
I haven't touched my plug since I bought it (I swear, Ma!). From Sub-zero days to 85 (fahrenheit of course) and no problems.
> 4. High-altitude mods needed? Low maintenance solutions?
I live at sea level. Low maintenance? Leave it stock.
> 5. Is 5th gear revved out at hwy speeds with a dirt countersprocket?
I've got stock gearing...
> 6. Type of brake fluid shipped from the factory? (man. says must flush
system if brand/type change. They make 3 recommendations, I know, but ???) Couldna tell ya
> 7. Where can I buy the Moose bash plate,
Almost anywhere that sells motostuff could order it for ya (look out for the "local dealer thread" backlash) or call our fellow lister Fred at Arrowhead Motor Sports. http://www.arrowheadmotorsports.com He's got some of the best testimonials for customer service EVER. Check the archives if you don't beleive me.
>