Re: Two way communications

Yahoo Groups Legacy Content
prieye@MSN.com

Two way communications

Post by prieye@MSN.com » Tue Jan 18, 2000 7:42 am

Greetings everyone ; Having just survived another Massachusetts to Florida raod trip I discovered something very interesting that I would like to share with you. I discovered that more and more folks are no longer useing their CB's, for the obvious reason of all the idiots who can't talk without swearing and making a fool of themselves. That in itself is no big news flash. What I did discover is that many, many folks are useing these new FMRS (Family [something?] Radio Service) radios like the MOTOROLA TALKABOUTS or KENWOOD style to communicate between vehicles. I have a few of these radios (as an Amatuer Radio operator I have a few of lots of different radios !) and left one on scan for the trip down. I heard quite a few conversations car to car, coach to coach, and guess what, never did I hear a curse word or anything foul. These radios are available everywhere, and don't cost but $90.00 for a great one. They have 14 channels and 38 different privacy tones so that you can block out any other conversations that may pop up on the channel your useing. It sounds much more difficult than it is, honestly. These radios are easy to use, and small. And they operate off of AA batteries for a range of a strong mile or more. All one needs to do is push a button to turn it on and another to scan all the channels. The radio will stop on any active channel and hold the conversation. The beauty is you don't even have to know what channel someone is on to find them if you're in scan mode. If we as motorhomers used these extensively as we travelled it would be simple to come up on a coach and just say something to the extent of "hey Safari (or whatever) from such and such state, how are you doing ?" And presto, if they had the same radio on scan they would here you and get back to you. No more foul mouthed idiots to contend with. Just go